Langdon Down died on October 7th 1896. He had had a severe illness in 1890. He had failed physically but was back at work and his death was unexpected. When his funeral procession passed through Hampton Wick and Kingston, shops closed with curtains drawn and people stood in silent tribute on the pavements. He was cremated and his ashes were brought back to Normansfield. When Mary Langdon Down died in 1901 his ashes and hers were placed together on the stage for her final funeral service. There is no stone to mark the place where the ashes were scattered but their greatest memorial was the lasting imprint which they left on the public perception of what could and should be done for the learning disabled, both in the scientific and social fields. The theatre which they built is today a listed building and it stands as a permanent memorial in stone to their great work.
MUSEUM & THEATRE OPEN DAY
10AM–5PM SATURDAY 30 NOVEMBER 2019
Talk 11am – 12.00pm: Royal Earlswood Asylum
1pm – 2pm Tour of the museum and theatre
See: Talks and Tours
© The Langdon Down Museum of Learning Disability and the Langdon Down Centre are owned and
managed by the Down’s Syndrome Association. Registered Charity no 1061474